8 Model Degree Colleges are to be opened in Odisha Districts


The model degree colleges are to be opened in Malkangiri, Nabarangpur, Rayagada, Boudh, Deogarh, Nuapada, Subarnapur and Nayagarh. Education minister Pradeep Panigrahy said that transit campuses would be used to make these colleges functional from the 2016-17 itself till adequate infrastructure became ready.

The colleges are to come up under the central government’s Model Degree College (MDC) scheme, mooted during the UPA-I rule for the country’s 374 districts with poor GER. The GER is the number of enrolled students as against every hundred eligible students.

Also see – Achyuta Samanta elected president of the Indian Science Congress Association