Odisha Champion in the Dhruv Pandove Trophy Cricket Tournament


cricket odisha


#Champions #DhruvPandoveTrophy #U19

The Odisha colts had a fantastic run at the Dhruv Pandove all India U-19 tournament organised by Punjab Cricket Association. The champion side led by young and energetic Subhransu Senapati was full of youth and exuberance. It was a very strong and effective side that was selected by Odisha cricket association and Mr. Daniel Rout took up the responsibility as a coach cum manager.

The young brigade from Odisha started off their journey with a brilliant victory over East zone opponents Tripura by defeating them by a big margin of 238 runs and secured 4 points. Rajesh Dhuper was the star with the bat as he scored a swashbuckling 156 by virtue of which Odisha got a very heavy total of 340. The Tripura side was bowled out only on 102 runs with the help of some magical off spin bowling by Subham Nayak(4) and Raj Kishan Patel(3). This big victory and great start for the team lifted the confidence level of the players.

Odisha registered their second consecutive victory in the tournament by defeating the home team Punjab by 8 wickets. Chasing a target of 71 runs, Odisha achieved it easily in 28 overs by the contribution of Sandeep Pattnaik who scored 37 runs. For Odisha earlier Debabrata Pradhan took 5 wickets and Asutosh and Rajkishan took 2 wickets apiece. Subham Nayak also picked up one wicket. Beating Punjab junior side in front of their home crowd was really difficult but the brilliance of Odisha bowlers made it very very easy.

In their third game the Odisha colts defeated the HPCA junior side by a good margin of 96 runs. Odisha scored 221/8 in 50 overs with the help of a fifty by Priyatam Singh and in the second half of the game it was the turn of the Odia bowlers and they bowled really well to restrict the opposition for a paltry total of 125. Suman Mohanty was the highest wicket taker with 3 wickets. The three comprehensive and consecutive victories for the young side was really a confidence booster for the big final against Vidarbha.

Also See – Odia Boy Amrutjay wins Super Series U-12 Tennis Tournament

In the final battle, Vidharbha won the toss and Odisha was put to bat first. Odisha got 248 in 50 overs. Rajesh Dhuper again played a lovely knock of 84 and was ably supported by Priyatam Singh (50) and Sandeep Pattnaik(47). Defending a good total of 248 at the IS Bindra Stadium, Odisha bowlers bowled out the opposition side for only 130 in 37.5 overs. Pacer Asutosh Das picked up 5 wickets, Subham Nayak and Jamala Bhanjan Mahapatra picked up two each.Odisha won the match by 118 runs and also lifted the prestigious Dhruv Pandove Trophy for the year 2015. Ashutosh Das of Odisha for his brilliant bowling got the man of the match award. The best batsman of the tournament award was given to Rajesh Dhuper of Odisha who scored 264 runs in 4 innings.
OCA secretary Asirbad Behera expressed his heartiest congratulation to the captain, coach, support staff and especially the players of the Odisha U-19 Team for being the champion in the Dhruv Pandove Trophy 2015. “It is a matter of great joy for all of us to win a trophy defeating four State teams, like Tripura, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Vidarbha in a row for the first time. We are proud of the Team for their outstanding performance that brought laurels for the State.” He wished the same spirit, confidence and performance to be replicated by the team during the forthcoming BCCI Domestic Tournaments: 2015-16 (Vinoo Mankad Trophy and Cooch Behar Trophy).

It was indeed a great journey for the Odisha team and the great team spirit was their among all the players which was the main reason behind this big success. Winning this tournament was really a wonderful team effort as each and every member of the side contributed in a fantastic manner ensuring a wonderful victory for the junior Odisha side.Now the expectation level will rise and we hope that the players will carry on their good work in future games as well.


For More Cricket news updates on Odisha Visit Odisha CricNewz