Odisha Government to upgrade 5 Colleges into full-fledged Universities


Odisha Government is planning to upgrade five more colleges into full-fledged universities. Education minister Debi Prasad Mishra said 5 colleges including Rajendra College in Balangir will considered university status.

New Education Policy-2016 has suggested Rajendra College will be upgraded to a varsity and control colleges in Kalahandi, Balangir, Nuapara and Sonepur districts.

The four other proposed colleges that would be made universities are Vikram Dev College in Jeypore, Rourkela Government College, Government College in Angul and Samanta Chandra Sekhara (SCS) Autonomous College in Puri.

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has suggested to limit the strength to a maximum of 100 affiliated colleges per university for effective administration and monitoring their quality.

Also See – Anwesha Mishra wins Gold Medal at Asian Youth Chess Championship 2016