Odisha govt to set up Police Commissionerate in Brahmapur, Sambalpur, Rourkela


Odisha Govenemnt has taken an ‘in-principle’ decision to establish Police Commissionerate system in Brahmapur, Sambalpur and Rourkela, informed Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in the State Assembly on Monday.

In response to a question of BJD MLA Dr Ramesh Chandra Chyaupatnaik, the Chief Minister said the proposals are under examination of the State Government. Chyaupatnaik had wanted to know the time limit, if set, for completion of the proposed Police Commissionerate systems.

Berhampur was identified Odisha’s first city-based police district. In fact, it is considered hub of illegal arms trade, illicit liquor preparation and gang-war among criminal groups.

Similarly, Rourkela is the State’s first industrial town inhabited by people from different States. In recent times law breakers have been regularly striking important institutions like bank. Even organised gangs comprising criminals from Jharkhand have surfaced. Sambalpur remained the nerve centre of western Odisha having all important institutions around it. Due to presence of industrial pockets around the city, need of city-police system is felt for long.

ALSO READ – Electricity connection to all Odisha villages by June 2018