Odisha Wins Pony National Softball Championship at Nagpur


Odisha team wins 4th Pony National Softball Championship held at Nagpur & organised by Nagpur District Pony Softball Association.

The Boys’ team from Odisha secured third position in the competition held at University Ground, Nagpur.

This team defeated very strong teams from states like Puducherry, Gujurat & West Bengal and reached quarter final where it met the team from famous Indian Oil Corporation(IOC).

After defeating IOC tem, it entered into semi final. It got defeated from the team of Maharastra. All the members of the team headed by Manager Sri Rabindra Patakhandal and Chief Coach Sri Bibhudatta Rath from Cuttack.

Odisha Wins Pony National Softball Championship at Nagpur

As more than half of the players are from Rayagada district, it is evident that the craze for this game is increasing more so amongst the poor tribal children.

Sri B.Udaya from Rayagada has been awarded as the best pitcher. While the captain of the boys’ team was Sri Aditya Prasad Dora, girls’ team was captained by Ms.G.Megha.

Also See – Odisha Blind Cricket Team Wins National cricket tournament for blind 2016

Sri Duryodhan Bidika and Ms Prasanti Huika, both of whom are from Rayagada and belong to poor Kandha tribal community, intensively coached the players under thirteen for last few months. Both these young players have participated at international level softball competitions in countries like Thailand.