Odia poet Dr Hrushikesh Mallick to get prestigious Sarala Award 2016


Noted Odia poet Dr Hrushikesh Mallick will be honoured with the 37th edition of prestigious Sarala Award for his outstanding poetry.

The annual award, carrying a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and a citation, would be conferred on Dr Mallick for his poetry work “ Jeje Dekhi Nathiba Bharat ”, the Sarala Award Committee announced on Saturday.

Two more prominent personalities of Odisha will be honoured for their valuable contribution in the field of music and art. Dr Gopal Chandra Panda will be awarded with Ila Panda Memorial Music Samman while Dr Dinanath Pathi will receive Ila Panda Memorial Art Samman posthumously, a release said.

A special function will be held on October 26, 2016, to felicitate Dr Mallick and others.

The annual Sarala Award is instituted since the year 1979 by the Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT), which is the charitable wing of the IMFA Group. The award is recognised as the foremost literary award of the State.

Also See – Odisha Government to name road after Mother Teresa in Bhubaneswar

Hrushikesh Mallick