Odisha Boys and Girls Team Crowns at National Rugby Championship 2016


Odisha asserted their dominance in Indian rugby by winning both the boys and girls crowns in the Societe Generale Junior (Under-18) National Rugby Championship 2016, played at the Bombay Gymkhana ground here today.

In the boys final, Odisha lads showed their mettle by registering an authoritative 26-0 victory against Tamil Nadu.

Ajit Kumar played a stellar role with two tries and three conversions to lead Odisha to victory. Playing a good supporting role was Suguda Majhi who produced two tries to complete Odishas domination. Meanwhile, the Odisha girls, who are the defending champions, were also in complete command against West Bengal and romped to a 21-5 win to extend their hold on the title.

Dominating the play from the start, Odisha comfortably broke through the Bengal defence with Kavita Kasturi, Rajani Sabar and Bupuni Lagori, all scoring a try each. On all three occasions Sumitra Nayak made no mistake with the conversions. Laxmi Oraon got the lone try for West Bengal.

ALSO READ – IIMC Dhenkanal to set up Community Radio Station and Media Museum

In the third place matches, Bihar girls defeated Uttar Pradesh 36-0 and West Bengal lads outplayed Bihar 34-0. Girls semi-finals: Odisha bt Uttar Pradesh 31-0; West Bengal bt Bihar 22-0. Boys semi-finals: Odisha bt West Bengal 10-5, Tamil Nadu bt Bihar 12-10

National Rugby Championship 2016