Odisha government to set up 12 clusters under MSECDP programme


Odisha government has decided to set up 12 clusters under Micro and Small Enterprises Cluster Development Programme (MSECDP).

Decision was taken to set up groundnut cluster at Jajpur, coir cluster at Sakhigopal (Puri), dry fish cluster at Paradeep, rice milling clusters at Kalahandi, Koraput and Balasore, and engineering clusters at Jharsuguda, Rourkela, Rayagada and Dhenkanal.

MSME secretary L N Gupta said a decision was also taken to develop mini-clusters of ginning industries at Bolangir, cashew industries at Nabarangpur, engineering industries at Cuttack and Koraput, fly ash industries at Balasore, Sambalpur and Dhenkanal.

Mr Gupta said, against the target of promoting 40,000 MSME enterprises with employment generation to 2 lakh persons, 13,500 MSME enterprises have been set up till August, 2016 with generation of employment to 42,190 persons.

He said, 180 sensitisation programmes would be taken up during the current year to motivate youths to set up MSME and 180 entrepreneurship development programmes (EDPs) will be organised throughout the state to train the youths.

Also See – Medical colleges in Kalahandi and Keonjhar construction start soon